Rossview High School to host CEMC’s 85th Annual Meeting

Fall is just around the corner, and so is Cumberland Electric Membership Corporation’s 85th Annual Meeting!

This year’s meeting will be held Saturday, Sept. 23, at Rossview High School in Clarksville. Members will be admitted at 8 a.m. for registration and voting, and the business session will begin at 10 a.m.
Between times, members are invited to enjoy a complimentary breakfast, browse through the selection of door prizes, visit various informational booths, check out the Youth Corner and enjoy musical entertainment provided by Bluegrass One.

An election to fill four seats on the board will be held, and the results will be announced during the business session. Members will elect directors to fill the North Stewart, North Montgomery, South Sumner and Director at Large positions. CEMC’s nominating Committee met July 6 and recommended incumbents Charles Hancock, Edward Oliver, Eddie Swan and Shela Williams for re-election for new three-year terms. Nominated by petition is Dr. William R. Moore of Clarksville, who is vying for the North Montgomery County seat.

Edward L. Oliver

Edward L. “Ed” Oliver is the director from North Montgomery County, a position he has held since joining the board in 2013. Oliver is retired executive vice president of Clarksville Department of Electricity where he worked for 35 years. Prior to his employment at the electric department, Oliver served in the U.S. Air Force. He has earned the advanced certified power executive designation from the Tennessee Valley Public Power Association and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director, Board Leadership and Director Gold certifications. Oliver attended Community College of the Air Force, Austin Peay State University, Nashville State Community College and the University of Tennessee Electric Meter School. He is also a graduate of Leadership Clarksville.

“I have been involved in the electric industry for more than 40 years. I bring first-hand knowledge not only from a member perspective but from the business side of the industry as well,” says Oliver. “Customer service is my strength, and I feel that enables me to be a good representative for the members and the co-op.” Oliver and his wife, Melissa, live in Clarksville.

William R. Moore

Nominated by petition for the North Montgomery County seat is Dr. William R. “Bill” Moore. Dr. Moore is a retired pediatrician who served in the medical field for more than 30 years. He held positions at Fort Worth Pediatric Clinic in Texas and The Children’s Clinic and Premier Medical Group in Clarksville.

He graduated with a Bachelor of Science in electrical engineering from the University of Memphis and earned an M.D. from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he also completed a pediatric residency, serving as chief resident at Nashville General Hospital. Moore was a founding member of Premier Medical Group, where he served for 24 years, including three years as president, 18 years on the board, 16 years on the Finance Committee and five years on the Investment Committee. He has also held various leadership roles and advisory positions within the community.

“I believe we have reached a transformational time for the electricity generation and delivery systems in the United States of America, and my experience and expertise will help guide CEMC through that transformation,” says Moore. “My experience serving on several different boards and finance committees give me knowledge on how to work through tough challenges on boards and what work is required to drive results. Taking great care of our community’s future is what I have always done as a pediatrician, and I believe I can continue that work on the CEMC board of directors.”

He and his wife, Genie, live in Clarksville. They have one adult son and two young grandchildren. He is a member of Grace Community Church. He has a solar powered home and drives an electric car.

Charles R. “Charlie” Hancock is the director from North Stewart County, a position he has held since joining the board in 2013. Hancock resides in Bumpus Mills and is a first-generation farmer. He and his wife, Jennifer, have three adult daughters. Hancock attends Bumpus Mills Church of Christ where he serves as an elder. He has earned the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Director certification. Hancock served as president of the Stewart County Farm Bureau for over 30 years and is currently a state director for Tennessee Farm Bureau. He is also district director for the Stewart County Soil Conservation District.

Edgar E.“Eddie” Swan is the director from South Sumner County. Swan was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Joe H. Whitaker in 2021. Swan recently retired from Gallatin Optical where he was the owner and a state-licensed optician for 45 years. He now enjoys working on the farm. Swan is a member of the Gallatin Sertoma Club and the Quarterback Club. He also serves on the board of the Sumner Farmers Co-op and is chairman of the board for the Gallatin Volunteer Fire Department. He and his wife, Laurie, reside in Gallatin. They have two children — a son and a daughter — and one grandson.

Shela K. Williams of Stewart County holds the Director at Large seat on the 10-member board of directors. Williams, who joined the board in 1999, holds Director Gold, Board Leadership and Credentialed Cooperative Director certificates from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and has served as secretary-treasurer on CEMC’s board since 2004. Williams recently retired from F&M Bank in Clarksville where she served as senior vice president of marketing/branch administrator. She is a graduate of Leadership Clarksville, Tennessee School of Banking, Southeastern School of Sales Leadership at Vanderbilt University and American Institute of Banking. She lives in Bumpus Mills and has one grown son and one granddaughter.

Full bios of each candidate can also be found in September’s issue of The Tennessee Magazine.

Early voting will be held Friday, Sept. 22, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at each district office for members who are unable to attend the meeting on Saturday.

Check out photos from last year’s Annual Meeting in Dover!